Breaking: RJD alleges its candidates won on 119 seats not being given certificates by EC, being told they lost

The BJP led NDA and RJD led Mahagathbandhan are neck to neck in the state elections at the moment.

Credit : Indie Journal

The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) has alleged that while the candidates of Mahagathbandhan have won 119 seats, the returning officers have refused to give these candidates the certificates declaring their victory. RJD has released a list of these 119 seats on social media. RJD as well as the Congress have submitted the list of the 119 seats to the State's Chief Electoral Officer, and have made allegations that the results for the seats where the winning margin was less, were deliberately delayed or held.

It also claimed that the Election Commission of India (ECI) website has also declared the Mahagathbandhan candidates winners at these 119 seats.

A few hours back, RJD leader Manojkumar Jha, speaking to the media, had made allegations that CM Nitish Kumar's office has been calling up Returning Officers at poll counting stations and pressurising them to slow down the counting or prevent recounts or initiate recounts according to convenience. Now social media posts shared by RJD's official handle have also alleged that Bihar Chief Minister and Janata Dal (United) - JD(U) Chief Nitish has been calling and pressuring the returning officers. While the returning officers had already congratulated the Mahagathbandhan candidates on winning, RJD's social media handle states, the candidates are now being refused certificates, and are being told that they have lost. In fact, a couple of hours ago, RJD leader Manoj Kumar Jha, while expressing confidence that Mahagathbandhan will form the government in the state, had emphasised that the winning candidates must not leave the counting centres without the certificates from returning officers.



The much-awaited result of Bihar Elections is taking longer than expected due to the prevailing Coronavirus situation, as well as has begun to shift in favour of Mahagathbandhan, as it's progressing towards the end of counting. While the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) seemed to be taking the maximum share of votes earlier, RJD has now emerged as the single largest party. Presently, as per the latest update, the BJP-JD(U) National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has won or taken lead in 122 out of Bihar's 243 seats, while 114 seats are presently with Mahagathbandhan.